English (UK)
Log in
Home
Home
Technical Resources Centre
Need help with setting up Workplace, managing domains or other technical info? Look no further.
Getting started
Just launched Workplace and not sure what to do next? We've got everything you need right here.
Technical Resources
You don't have to be an IT genius to launch Workplace, but if you are then these technical resources are for you.
In-depth hubs
Our resource hubs will help you master some of Workplace's most popular features and embrace new ways of working.
Help Centre
Find step-by-step instructions and answers to frequently asked questions.
Setup guides
From adding a domain to inviting users, follow this step-by-step guide to set up your Workplace.
Domain Management
Find out why domain management matters - and how to do it properly.
Workplace Integrations
Discover how to bring all your tools together. Something missing? Learn how to build your own integrations.
Account Management
Keep your Workplace up to date by creating, maintaining or deactivating user accounts.
Authentication
Make sure you only give access to the right people by integrating with your current identity solutions.
IT Configuration
Learn how to keep Workplace running smoothly with info on networks, email whitelisting and domains.
Account Lifecycle
Understand the process of inviting members of your organisation to claim their accounts.
Security and Governance
Get the lowdown on how we keep your people and information safe on Workplace with added technical terminology.
Workplace API
Learn how you can automate and integrate your custom solutions with Workplace using our API.
Live Video resources
Looking to use Live Video to transform your Town Halls? This is the place to get tips, guides and practical insights.
Knowledge Library resources
Wish your intranet was a little more inspiring? Use these Knowledge Library resources to get started.
Working from Home with Workplace
So you've embraced remote work - now what? Stay on top of your game with these guides, videos and customer stories.
New rules of engagement
Turn hybrid teams into high-performing teams by learning more about the new rules of employee engagement.
Getting started
From launching Workplace to paying for it, learn more about those crucial first steps.
Using Workplace
This is where we reveal the hidden depths Workplace has to offer with tips and info on key features.
Managing Workplace
Got a specific question about managing content, data or employees? This is the place to ask it.
IT and Developer Support
Looking for answers to more technical questions about security, integration and the like? Start here.
Integrations
    Security
      Interactive Demo
        Customer stories
        Workplace for Good
          Pricing Plans
            ROI Calculator
              Events and Webinars
                E-books and Guides
                  Newsroom
                    Workplace One Partner Programme
                      Service and reseller partners
                        Ways to work
                          Workplace Toolkits
                            Workplace Academy
                              Support
                                Customer Communities
                                  What's new in Workplace
                                    English (UK)

                                    Account Management

                                    Learn how you can create, update, and deactivate user accounts on Workplace.

                                    Overview

                                    Overview

                                    The most basic way to manage an account in Workplace is by manually creating accounts in the Admin Panel of your Workplace instance. You can manage accounts one by one or you can trigger bulk operations by using a spreadsheet.

                                    Manage your accounts one-by-one

                                    Create an account

                                    Create an account

                                    You can create a new account by logging in as an Administrator who has the permission to add and remove accounts. Once you're logged in as an Administrator with this permission, you can complete the following steps to create a single account:

                                    1
                                    In the Admin Panel select People.

                                    2
                                    Click + Add People.

                                    3
                                    Select Add One Person.

                                    4
                                    Fill out as much of your colleague’s information as possible. This must either include an Email address or an Employee ID.

                                    5
                                    After your colleague's profile details have been entered, click Add. An email is sent to the person automatically, inviting them to join Workplace.
                                    ?
                                    The authentication method will define whether this account needs to log in via Single Sign-on (SSO) or by using a password that's configured during activation.
                                    Update an account

                                    Update an account

                                    You can update existing accounts by logging in as an Administrator who has the permission to add and remove accounts. Once you're logged in as an Administrator with this permission, you can complete the following steps to update a single account:

                                    1
                                    Go to the Admin Panel and navigate to the People section.

                                    2
                                    Search for the user that you want to update.

                                    3
                                    Click on the ... button and select Edit Person's Details.

                                    4
                                    Once you have changed the values of the user attributes, you can click on the Save Changes button to confirm the changes.
                                    ?
                                    You can modify the email address of a user but you'll need to inform the user of this change as this will become the new username to log in to Workplace.
                                    Deactivate an account

                                    Deactivate an account

                                    You can deactivate existing accounts by logging in as an Administrator who has the permission to add and remove accounts. Once you're logged in as an Administrator with this permission, you can complete the following steps to deactivate a single account:

                                    1
                                    Go to the Admin Panel and navigate to the People section.

                                    2
                                    Search for the user that you want to deactivate.

                                    3
                                    Click on the ... button and select Deactivate Account.
                                    ?
                                    When you have deactivated an account, the user will immediately be disconnected from Workplace and the user profile will be presented as deactivated in the UI to all active users.
                                    Delete an account

                                    Delete an account

                                    You can delete existing accounts by logging in as an Administrator who has the permission to add and remove accounts. Once you're logged in as an Administrator with this permission, you can complete the following steps to deactivate a single account:

                                    1
                                    Go to the Admin Panel and navigate to the People section.

                                    2
                                    Search for the user that you want to delete.

                                    3
                                    Click on the ... button and select Delete Account.